### McGILL UNIVERSITY SENATE



# Report of the Nominating Committee

D10-68

Meeting of May 3<sup>rd</sup> at 9:00 a.m. Room 388, Macdonald Engineering Building

Present: Anthony C. Masi (Chair), Alexandra Bishop, Johanne Hebert, Martin Grant,

Jacques Hurtubise, Juliet Johnson, Christopher Manfredi, Kevin McDonough, Arun Misra, Kathryn Peterson, Christophe Pierre, Alenoush Saroyan, Edith

Zorychta, Stephen Strople (Secretary).

Regrets: Joshua Abaki, Martin Kreiswirth, John Kurien, Richard Levin, Chandra

Madramootoo, Heather Munroe-Blum, Honora Shaughnessy.

#### Note to Members:

Each committee listing below begins with an "Action", calling attention to the recommendation of the Nominating Committee for Senate approval.

The names shown <u>underlined</u> are recommended by the Nominating Committee for Senate approval.

#### APPOINTMENTS TO SENATE STANDING COMMITTEES

#### **Honorary Degrees and Convocations Committee**

Action: Approve one representative of Senate to serve a three year term commencing September 1, 2011.

#### Excerpt from the Terms of Reference:

The Honorary Degrees and Convocations Committee is a Standing Committee of Senate. Its mandate is to recommend to Senate outstanding individuals for the conferral of McGill honorary degrees, the highest honour that the University can bestow. It shall also advise on convocations matters as required.

#### Composition:

The Chancellor, Chair: Mr. H. Arnold Steinberg The Principal: Professor Heather Munroe-Blum

The Provost: Professor Anthony C. Masi

The Chair of the Board or delegate: Mr. Stuart Cobbett

The University Marshal: Professor David Harpp

The President of the Alumni Association or delegate: Ms. Cynthia Price

Six representatives of Senate:

Ms Cynthia Leive (Libraries) ± 2014

#### APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES ARISING FROM UNIVERSITY REGULATIONS

## **Statutory Selection Committees Slates**

Action: Approve 33 full professors and full librarians to serve a maximum three year term commencing September 1, 2011.

<u>Luis B. Agellon, M (Dietetics and Human Nutrition)  $\pm$  2014 Inteaz Alli, M (Food Science and Agricultural Chemistry)  $\pm$  2014 Suzelle Barrington, F (</u> Robert Bracewell, M (Educational and Counselling Psychology) ± 2012

Lynn Butler-Kisber, F (Integrated Studies in Education) ± 2012

Nancy Heath, F (Educational and Counselling Psychology)  $\pm 2012$ 

Susanne Lajoie, F (Educational and Counselling Psychology) ± 2012

Mary Maguire, F (Integrated Studies in Education) ± 2012

Annmarie Adams, F (Architecture) ± 2012

Denis Mitchell, M (Civil Engineering) ± 2012

Arun Misra, M (Mechanical Engineering)  $\pm 2012$ 

Alejandro Rey, M (Chemical Engineering)  $\pm 2012$ 

Colleen Sheppard, F (Law)  $\pm 2012$ 

Margaret Somerville, F (Law)  $\pm 2012$ 

Theresia Walburga Gyorkos, F (Epidemiology and Biostatistics) ± 2012

Janet Henderson, F (Medicine)  $\pm 2012$ 

Susan Kahn, F (Medicine)  $\pm 2012$ 

Feige Kaplan, F (Human Genetics)  $\pm 2012$ 

Louise Pilote, F (Medicine)  $\pm 2012$ 

Catherine Bushnell, F, (Anaesthesia)  $\pm 2012$ 

Brian Cherney, M (Music Research) ± 2012

Douglas Farrow, M (Religious Studies) ± 2012

Greg Brown, M (Biology)  $\pm 2012$ 

Greg Dudek, M (Computer Science)  $\pm 2012$ 

Vicky Kaspi, F (Physics)  $\pm 2012$ 

David Wolfson, M (Mathematics and Statistics)  $\pm 2012$ 

Peter Yau, M (Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences)  $\pm 2012$ 

David Zuroff, M (Psychology)  $\pm 2012$ 

Report of the Nominating Committee ± D10-68