FACULTY OF SCIENCE Meeting of Faculty Tuesday, 12 September, 2017 Leacock Council Room - L232

ATTENDANCE: As recorded in the Faculty Appendix Book

DOCUMENTS: S-16-41, S-16-42 S-17-1, S-17-2

Dean Lennox called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m., and welcomed members to the first Faculty of Science meeting of the year.

Dean Lennox introduced and welcomed Interim Associate Dean (Academic) Axel Hundemer who will be replacing Associate Dean Tamara Western while on leave. Associate Dean Hundemer is a member of the Department of Mathematics and Statistics, as well as Senior Advisor. Among other committees, Axel has been serving on the Academic Committee for a number of years. Moreover, he is an excellent teacher.

Dean Lennox welcomed and congratulated new Assistant Professors, recently tenured Professors, new Full Professors, and new Professors Emeriti, and read out their names.

New Professors					
Department	Name Rank				
Atmospheric & Oceanic Sciences	Carolina Dufour	Assistant			
Chemistry Geography and Institute for the	Matthew Harrington	Assistant			

Mathematics & Statistics & Physics

Physics	Tami Pereg-Barnea	Associate				
Full Professors						
Department	Name	Name Rank				
Biology	Laura Nilson	Professor				
Chemistry	Ashok Kakkar	Professor				
Computer Science	Xue Liu	Professor				
Computer Science	Martin Robillard	Professor				
Mathematics & Statistics	Adam Oberman	Professor				
Psychology	Heungsun Hwang	Professor				
Redpath Museum/MSE	Anthony Ricciardi	Professor				
Emeritus Professors						
Department	Name					
Biology	Martin Lechowicz					
Chemistry	Eric Salin					
Mathematics & Statistics	Jian-Jun (JJ) Xu					
Psychology	Donald Taylor					
Psychology	Robert Pihl					
Psychology	Daniel Levitin	Daniel Levitin				
		September/12/2017				

1) <u>ADOPTION OF AGENDA</u>

Prof. Bell moved, seconded by Prof. Roulet, that the Agenda be adopted.

The motion carried.

2) <u>SEATING OF STUDENT REPRESENTATIVES</u>

S-17-1

Dean Lennox read the list of student members, and welcomed them to the Faculty of Science. He said that since many students

4) BUSINESS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES

There was no business arising from the Minutes.

5) REPORTS OF COMMITTEES

(a) Nominating Committee

S-17-2

1. Science Nominating Committee (for information):

The Nominating Committee consists of the Science Senate Representatives, and almost all are Chairs of the Faculty of Science; the Convenor is Prof. John Gyakum. The Committee approves and recommends memberships of the Faculty of Science committees.

2. Science Chairs' Council (for information):

The Science Chairs' Council serves as an advisory committee to the Dean, and consists of the Dean, the Associate Dean (Academic), the Associate Dean (Research), Associate Dean (Graduate Education), the Director of Advising Services, and the heads of all units in the Faculty of Science, including the MSE and the Redpath Museum.

3. Tenure Committee (for information):

The Tenure Committee consists of Faculty of Science representatives, and Senate representatives from various faculties.

4. Committee on Student Standing (for approval):

The Committee on Student Standing (CSS) reviews student appeals of decisions made by the Director of Advising Services. Seeing as the membership of CSS is incomplete, the membership will be considered at the next meeting.

5. Academic Committee (for approval):

The Academic Committee reviews and approves all academic content taught in the Faculty of Science. A representative from the Department of Biochemistry will be announced at the next Faculty meeting.

6. Scholarships Committee (for approval):

The Associate Dean of Graduate Education serves as the Chair of the Scholarships Committee. The Committee is also made up of department representatives.

7. Leo Yaffe & Principal's Prizes Committee (for approval):

ts3Coxt Facul8.-1.8(adu)5.8(ate Edunede up of dep)5.3o2-.7(leao.ede upc|acr(NzTc -.0the S)8.4(c)-):

laboratory space for first-year students, it was extremely important to keep a close watch on enrolment figures.

Associate Dean Hundemer announced that a new website (http://www.mcgill.ca/bio-physical-sci) was recently launched for the creation of the umbrella structure for the Bio-Physical Sciences programs, approved on 10 January, 2017 at the Faculty of Science meeting. The umbrella structure was largely created by Associate Dean (Academic) Tamara Western (currently on leave). There were:

Five revised programs:

- Biology Quantitative Biology (Major & Honours)
- Biology & Mathematics (Major)
- Computer Science & Biology (Major & Honours)
- Physiology & Mathematics (Major)
- Physiology & Physics (Major)

Two new programs:

- Chemistry Biophysical Chemistry (Major & Honours)
- Physics Biological Physics (Major & Honours)

Two new courses:

- BIOL 219 (Physical Biology of the Cell (4 credits)
- PHYS 329 (Statistical Physics with Biophysical Application (3 credits)

Associate Dean Hundemer announced that an information session is scheduled for 18 September, 2017 from 4-6 p.m. in Leacock 232. Advisors of the above programs would be present to answer students' questions. He asked members teaching similar-type courses to advertise the website and 5.1(r)-2.5(ses to aan se)51(try.9(ssi)7 iso a)5.9ce8 T.9(ssi)78(

Associate Dean Precup announced a new Québec interdisciplinary program, AUDACE Program of Fonds de recherche du Québec. AUDACE involves two principal