FACULTY OF SCIENCE CONSTITUTION

1. FACULTY MEETINGS

1.1. There shall be regular monthly meetings of the Faculty of Science during the academic session. The Dean or the Dean's designate shall preside at such meetings. All questions concerning courses, programs, degree requirements, and other academic matters shall be submitted to the Faculty for approval and recommendation for appropriate action.

1.2. For the purpose of its meetings, the membership of Faculty shall consist of the following:

1.2.1. All full professors, associate professors, assistant profess Science.

the Faculty of Science as possible, to bring total student membership to eighteen.

1.2.5. Three representatives from among, and elected by, students currently registered in graduate programs in the departments or schools of the Faculty.

1.2.6. One representative from among, and elected by, po aon6doc Tc 0.6(al)2.6(e)10.3(s)-2.1olse culty4.92Ithe Faculty for which due notice and an agenda have been communicated to all Faculty method of communication at least five working days in nducted subject to Robert's Rules of Order.

ACULTY

Committee, the

2.7.4. The vice Dean, Associate Dean or delegate shall serve on the Committee as Chair. The other members of the Committee shall be academic staff nominated by units offering programs leading to the B.Sc. degree, and every such unit shall be represented.

2.8. Leo Yaffe Award Committee

2.8.1. The Leo Yaffe Award Committee shall recommend to Faculty the recipient of an award for superior teaching in the Faculty of Science. This shall be done at the appropriate time, normally at a Faculty meeting in May.

2.8.2. The Committee shall consist of nine members representing diverse units. The members shall be approved by Faculty for 3-year, rotating terms on the recommendation of the Nominating Committee. The Chair shall be recommended annually by the Nominating Committee.

2.8.3. In addition, there shall be two student members in satisfactory standing, one from the biological-medical sciences and one from other sciences, to be nominated by SUS and approved by Faculty. A student member who has taken, or is taking, a course from any of the nominees shall be replaced.

2.8.4. The award process and any modifications thereof shall receive approval of Faculty prior to their implementation.

2.8.5. An individual can only win the Leo Yaffe Award once.

2.9. Science Equity and Climate Committee

2.9.1. The Faculty of Science Equity and Climate Committee supports excellence within the Faculty of Science by developing programs and policies that strive to foster a climate for working and learning in which all our students, faculty and academic and administrative staff feel included and capable of success as full participants in McGill's academic mission. The Committee also supports the University's commitment to equity, diversity, and inclusion by: helping to communicate relevant University policies and initiatives to the units in the Faculty of Science and, where relevant, advising on their implementation at the unit level; receiving information from Science units about their related activities and concerns; building knowledge and capacity through group discussions; providing unit-level equity committees with a standardized Terms of Reference template; and advising unit-level equity committees on alignment of their activities with University policies, priorities, and strategic plans.

2.9.2. An Associate Dean or delegate shall serve on the Committee as Chair. The remaining membership of the Committee shall include: one tenure-track faculty member from each unit in the Faculty of Science, representing a related unit-level committee where applicable, two graduate students, and two undergraduate students. Membership

shall also include representatives of the Office of Science Education, the Office of Science Outreach, the Science Office for Undergraduate Student Advising, and occasional *ad hoc* members as appropriate.

2.9.3. Committee members shall be asked to serve as liaisons with their units/constituents by reporting at least once per semester at a regular department meeting or equivalent.

2.9.4. The Committee shall meet regularly during the academic year. Decisions shall be made by consensus in most instances or, where deemed appropriate, by majority decision. In either case, care shall be taken to acknowledge and consider minority or dissenting opinions.

2.9.5 The Committee shall report regularly to Faculty on routine matters for information or, where appropriate, approval or adoption.

2.9.6 These Terms of Reference shall be reviewed every three years, to ensure appropriate alignment with related University-level policies and directives.

3. MEETINGS OF